Summer meet and greet :: Cam Kincaid
<blank>


June 26, 2014

Over the next four weeks GoGriz.com will introduce you first to the three incoming players, then the five returning players who will make up the 2014-15 Montana women's tennis team. Today: Cam Kincaid of Portland, Ore.

Kincaid, born in Vietnam and adopted at the age of five weeks by Ron and Jorie Kincaid, signed a National Letter of Intent last fall.

"Cam was a player that I had been tracking for a while," said UM women's tennis coach Steve Ascher, the 2012 and '14 Big Sky Conference Coach of the Year. "My friend Aaron Gross, the men's tennis coach at the University of Portland, had told me to keep an eye on her.

"I had spent time with her older brother Joel over the years and knew what a solid family Cam was being raised in. When I was able to watch Cam compete at a junior tournament in Wenatchee (Wash.), I knew she would be a great fit for our program."

What is your major? Undecided
Do you have any siblings? Eight: five older brothers, one older sister and two younger sisters. Five of us were adopted, three from Vietnam, one from Romania and one from Oregon
Favorite pro tennis player? Rafael Nadal, all the way
Favorite female pro athlete? Don't have one
Favorite male pro athlete? Damian Lillard, LaMarcus Aldridge and Robin Lopez, and Meyers Leonard for looks
Favorite sports other than tennis? Basketball and volleyball
Favorite movie? A Walk to Remember and The Blind Side
Favorite TV show? The Mentalist
Favorite band or musician? I don't actually like music by band or musician but by song. But if I had to name some it'd be One Republic and The Head and the Heart. I started to try to be more of a "Portlander" and listen to alternative music, and I've actually really liked all of that
Favorite book? Hmmm, don't have one, which means I should probably start reading more
Favorite foods? Flank steak, BBQ ribs, any hamburger
What is the best place you have visited? Kauai and Phuket, Thailand
What places would you like to visit? Sweden, France, Spain
What three words best describe you? Funny, caring, witty. At least that's what my parents tell me
What did you want to grow up to be when you were a child? Pro tennis player who worked at Jamba Juice and had 10 children
What do you want to be when you graduate college? Not sure yet. I was thinking of taking some time after college to do humanitarian work overseas
Summer or winter? Summer for the weather, winter for the holidays and family
Morning or night? Night
Introvert or extrovert? Depends on the person I'm around. Initially an introvert but that usually changes
Dancing or singing? Either would be sad to watch me do
Cats or dogs? We own a cat but I prefer dogs, especially puppies
Call or text? Text
PC or Mac? Mac
Ice cream or frozen yogurt? What is life without Salt and Straw? Although I am from Portland and froyo is a pretty big thing here
Spicy or mild? Mild
Clay, grass or hard court? Clay. I've never played on grass
Country you would like to win the World Cup? I don't follow soccer at all, but since I'm from USA, I'll go with the USA
Country you think will win the World Cup? Not the USA

 

 

Official Griz Gear

    Missoulas Guff's Insider BNSF Railrood