Delaney finalist for FCS Coach of the Year

Mick Delaney is a finalist for FCS Coach of the Year

Mick Delaney is a finalist for FCS Coach of the Year

Dec. 10, 2013


BOSTON - December 10, 2013 - Liberty Mutual Insurance today announced Montana Head Football Coach Mick Delaney among the five Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) finalists for the 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, honoring coaches who best exemplify responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence both on and off the field.

Now in its eighth year, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football-coaching award that promotes both charity and scholarship through its winners. Since 2006, more than $1.8 million has been distributed to over 100 charities and colleges across the country through the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award program. Should Coach Mick Delaney win, he will receive $50,000 from Liberty Mutual to donate to his favorite charities and a $20,000 contribution to the Montan Alumni Association for scholarship. Liberty Mutual Insurance will announce the four Coach of the Year winners prior to the BCS Championship game on January 6, 2014, in Newport Beach, Calif.

Beginning today through December 22, fans can vote daily at Montana fans have a voice in the final outcome, with 20 percent of each finalist's ultimate standing dependent on fan votes. In addition, each vote during this period will serve as an official entry into the "Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Fan Experience Sweepstakes," awarding one lucky fan tickets and airfare for two to the 2014 regular season college football game of their choice. The sweepstakes winner will be chose by a random drawing on December 23.

"Throughout the voting process, Montana and their fans and alumni showed tremendous support for Coach Delaney, speaking volumes to his importance to the community both on and off the field," said James MacPhee, senior vice president and Chief Marketing Officer at Liberty Mutual Insurance. "Liberty Mutual Insurance is proud to recognize Mick as one of this year's FCS finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, celebrating his leadership and mentorship to his players, as well as his dedication to the Missoula community."

In all, 25 finalists - 10 in the Football Bowl Subdivision and five each in the FCS, Division II and Division III - were determined by an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame, incorporating such criteria as wins, team penalties, sportsmanship, academic performance by the student-athletes, and charitable commitments in their community and beyond. To qualify for the scoring model, each coach needed to finish among the top 15 in fan voting in his division from September 24 until December 3.

The other four FCS finalists for the 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award are, in alphabetical order: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State; Mick Delaney, Montana; Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina; Joe Moorhead, Fordham; and Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana. The winners, to be announced January 6, 2014, will be determined by a weighted voting system. Fan votes in this period will account for 20 percent of each coach's final score, with votes from two committees of college football media (25 percent) and College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches (55 percent) also being considered.



Top Videos
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online


More Headlines

Follow us!