Kanongata'a, Kistler, Tripp & Wagenmann named first team All-Big Sky

WR/returner Ellis Henderson (Photo by Sam Belanger)

WR/returner Ellis Henderson (Photo by Sam Belanger)

Nov. 26, 2013

2013 All-Big Sky Team Get Acrobat Reader

The University of Montana's J.P. Kanongata'a, Danny Kistler Jr., Jordan Tripp, and Zack Wagenmann have been named first team All-Big Sky Conference, the league announced today (Tuesday, Nov. 26).

All 24 starters from a Montana squad that finished the regular-season with a 10-2 record, were named to the 2013 all-conference team by the Big Sky's coaches. Kistler, Tripp, and Wagenmann are all repeat first team selections.

"To have three guys be first team all-conference a year ago when we weren't as successful as we've been this season was special, but to have four named first team in 2013 - that's good stuff," said UM head coach Mick Delaney. "Some of our guys I am sure will be disappointed, but the ultimate thing is that we are a good football team, and we are a team and we play for each other. That's a great thing about football - it's a team sport."

The Griz had seven players named to the second team - four on defense and three on offense.

Named to the second unit on "D" were senior tackle Alex Bienemann, senior linebacker Brock Coyle, senior cornerback Anthony Goodwin, and junior free safety Matt Hermanson. Second team picks on offense were sophomore wide receiver Ellis Henderson, senior center Kjelby Oiland and senior guard William Poehls. Henderson was also named second team at return specialist.

"I am just so excited that they (the league coaches) recognized so many of our guys," Delaney said. "There are three teams and honorable mention, but there are also 13 teams in the conference now. It's a known fact in the sports world that if you win and are successful, than you're going to get more guys recognized. It's a team effort, and with our team playing so well - that's what catches the other coaches' eyes.

"I don't know if people understand, but we can't vote for our own guys," Delaney said. "This is all entirely done by the other coaches. In other words, I could not vote for Brock Coyle or Jordie Tripp, etcetera, etcetera. I have the staff do it (vote) together, because our offense sees the other teams' defensive players, and the same on defense. We just vote on the best players we played against and don't let politics enter into it. I was really strong in my convictions that Brock Coyle should have been a first teamer and that didn't happen, but other than that, I think it probably shook out like you would think that it would."

UM's four third team selections were junior quarterback Jordan Johnson, junior guard Trevor Poole, junior defensive tackle Tonga Takai, and sophomore fullback Jamal Wilson. The versatile Henderson was also named to the third team on special teams.

Honorable Mention: Offense

Wide Receiver: Cam Warren, Senior

Tackle: John Schmaing, Sophomore

Tight End: Clay Pierson, Senior

Running Back: Jordan Canada, Junior

Kicker: Ben Worst, Freshman

Honorable Mention: Defense

Ends: Tyrone Holmes, Sophomore

Safeties: Bo Tully, Senior

Cornerback: Nate Harris, Sophomore

Punter: Stephen Shaw, Sophomore



Top Videos
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online


More Headlines

Follow us!