Tripp named Good Works Team nominee

Jordan Tripp recently donated his hair for cancer patients

Jordan Tripp recently donated his hair for cancer patients

July 17, 2012

University of Montana junior linebacker Jordan Tripp has been named one of 117 nominees to the 2012 Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team. As one of college football's most prestigious off-the-field honors, the award recognizes a select group of college football players committed to making a difference in their communities.

Tripp is one of just two Big Sky Conference players nominated for the team, the other being Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee.

Since 1992, the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team has shown a spotlight on the countless good works and remarkable stories of service by student-athletes at all levels of college football competition. Award recipients represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership in the community.

"This year's Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nominees have some of the most impressive community service resumes in the program's 21-year history," said Kathy Mabe, president of Allstate's West Regions and a member of the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel. "These young men continue to raise the bar for the impact that student-athletes can have on others and are an inspiration to Allstate, our agents and our employees."

Tackles or touchdowns have no bearing on this award, for it is the many examples of volunteerism and giving back that have earned the players nominations from their respective colleges and universities. From comforting patients at children's hospitals to building houses for needy families to mentoring at-risk youth, each Allstate AFCA Good Works Team member has his own unique and inspiring story.

"After looking through the list of nominees for the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, we are recognizing some of the best student-athletes in all of college football," said Grant Teaff, executive director of the American Football Coaches Association. "These 117 nominees understand the impact each of them have on their schools and communities, and it gives me great pleasure in recognizing their efforts for what they stand for and what they mean to college football."



From the nominees submitted by sports information directors across the nation on behalf of their schools, a special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and prominent college football media members will select two 11-player Good Works Teams, one comprised of players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and another representing players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA. The final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September.

Allstate and the AFCA will launch the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team website on featuring profiles and images of the final team members, as well as the opportunity for fans to vote for the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain.

The 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team voting panel includes: former Good Works Team members Alex Van Pelt (Pittsburgh, 1992 team), Zaid Abdul-Aleem (Duke, 1994), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1997, 1998), Grant Irons (Notre Dame, 1999), Brian Brenberg (St. Thomas, 2001) and Mike Proman (Amherst, 2002), media members Lou Holtz (ESPN), Kirk Herbstreit (ESPN), Tom O'Toole (USA Today), Andy Staples ( and Blair Kerkhoff (Kansas City Star), current AFCA president and Harvard head coach Tim Murphy, 1987 AFCA president LaVell Edwards, the former head coach at Brigham Young, and Kathy Mabe, President, West Regions at Allstate.

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and the AFCA, each player must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service while maintaining a strong academic standing.

Top Videos
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online


More Headlines

Follow us!