Lider earns spot on 2013 CFPA Watch List

Chris Lider lines up for a field goal attempt against Eastern Washington in 2012.

Chris Lider lines up for a field goal attempt against Eastern Washington in 2012.

June 24, 2013

College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Placekicker Award, and Montana's Chris Lider earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual placekicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Chris Lider on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Lider has the potential to become one of the top placekickers in Montana football history. After converting 15-of-21 field goals in 2012, Lider will be one of the nation's top specialists to watch in 2013."

Lider is the fourth Grizzly to earn a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List. Former Montana great Trumaine Johnson earned the CFPA Elite Defensive Back Award.

 All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL placekickers include: Alex Henery (Nebraska), Blair Walsh (Georgia), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), David Buehler (USC), Brandon McManus (Temple), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Zach Brown (Portland State), Patrick Murray (Fordham), and Adi Kunalic (Nebraska).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.



The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website ( Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

Top Videos
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online


More Headlines

Follow us!