No repeat: Montana third in Presidents Cup race

July 20, 2012

The University of Montana finished third in the final standings for the 2011-12 Big Sky Conference Presidents Cup, the league office announced Friday. Montana, which won the Presidents Cup in both 2006-07 and 2010-11, was attempting to become the third repeat winner in the short history of the award.

This is the sixth straight year Montana has had a top-three finish in the final Presidents Cup standings.

Montana State won its second Presidents Cup in a tiebreaker over Weber State, which claimed second place. The Bobcats won their first Cup in 2004-05 and joins Montana and Weber State as the only schools to win more than a single Cup.

WSU is a four-time Cup winner. Eastern Washington and Northern Arizona are both one-time winners.

The Presidents Cup, which has been awarded annually since 2002-03, reinforces the Big Sky's dedication to the academic side of the student-athlete experience. Overall athletic success is combined with team grade point averages, graduation rates and all-conference performers with grade point averages of at least 3.0 to determine the winner.

Montana was the leader in overall athletic points in 2011-12, a key element in deciding the Presidents Cup, but Montana State and Weber State both did better academically.

The Big Sky Conference does not divulge the academic standings and did not explain in its release what tiebreaker was used to break the deadlock between Montana State and Weber State.

Top Videos
Online Stores
Official Store
Official Online


More Headlines

Follow us!